Stainless steel pipe manufacturers and suppliers
Search News Category News Tags Latest News Archive Time

What are the classifications of stainless steel?


Stainless steel classification There are five basic types of stainless steel: austenite, ferrite, martensite, duplex stainless steel, and precipitation hardening stainless steel.
(1) Austenitic stainless steel is not magnetic. The typical steel type is the addition of 18% chromium and a certain amount of nickel to increase corrosion resistance. They are widely used steel types.
(2) Ferrite is magnetic, and chromium is its main content, with a proportion of 17%. This material has good oxidation resistance.

(3) Martensitic stainless steels also have magnetic properties. The content of chromium is usually 13% and contains a proper amount of carbon. They can be hardened by quenching and tempering.
(4) Duplex stainless steel has a mixed structure of ferrite and austenite, the content of chromium is between 18% and 28%, and the content of nickel is between 4.5% and 8%. They are very resistant to chloride erosion. Good results.
(5) Precipitated stainless steel has a conventional chromium content of 17, plus a certain amount of nickel, copper and niobium, which can be hardened by precipitation and aging.

Chat with SUSAN XU
already 1 902 messages

  • SUSAN XU 10:12 AM, Today
    Hello, dear sir/madam, welcome to our website! I’m SUSAN XU,how should I address you?